Alert | State of Local Emergency in Effect

City declares State of Local Emergency. Water restrictions and Fire ban in place. Our water is safe to drink.

Water Saving Tips, FAQs, more information

Welcome to Customer Review Period 2024

A guide to understanding your 2024 property assessment

Customer Review Period: January 3 - March 11, 2024

How residential properties are assessed


Calgary has thousands of real estate sales every year. These sales help us estimate what your home would likely have sold for on July 1, 2023. Your home’s 2024 property assessment reflects sales that happened between July 1, 2020, and July 1, 2023.  

Sales also help us learn what features add value (or don’t) to a property. For example, pretend your home has a developed basement and another home doesn’t. The two homes would likely sell for different amounts.

Some of the features we consider when preparing your property assessment are the:

  • Age of the property.
  • Amount of living area (developed space).
  • Community / location of the property.
  • Amount of land (lot size).
  • Any renovations that have been done.
  • Space additions, and more.

This process helps us assess residential homes consistently and fairly.

Do you own a condo? The living space, storage unit, and/or parking stall is often separately titled. When this happens, each space will receive its own property assessment and property tax bill. Learn more about residential condo assessments.

For other property types: Learn how non-residential properties are assessed or how multi-residential properties are assessed

  • Estimate my property tax

    The 2024 property assessment notices were sent on Jan. 3, 2024. This begins the Customer Review Period. This is your opportunity to review your assessment and learn more about how it was determined.

    Your property assessment reflects:

    • The amount your property may have sold for on July 1, 2023 (market value), and,

    • The physical condition of the property as of Dec. 31, 2023.

Note: If we sent you an assessment outside of Jan. 3, 2024, then your Customer Review Period will have a different timeframe. Confirm the dates by looking at your assessment notice.  

Tips for reviewing your property assessment

Calgary’s City Assessor, Eddie Lee, shares tips on reviewing property assessments.

Criteria used to determine property values

Calgary’s City Assessor, Eddie Lee, shares information about the criteria used to determine property values.

FAQ: Can I sell my property for the assessment value?

Calgary’s City Assessor, Eddie Lee, answers the frequently asked question: Is my property assessed value the same as what I can sell my property for today?

Understanding how property assessment and tax relate?

Calgary’s City Assessor, Eddie Lee, explains how your property assessment relates to your property tax.

Questions about your property assessment – what to do

Calgary’s City Assessor, Eddie Lee, shares tips on what to do if you have questions about your property assessment.

Estimate your 2024 property tax bill


Your assessment is used to calculate your annual property tax bill, which is mailed in the spring. Use our online calculator to help you with budget planning. 

  • Determining your fair share of property tax

  • How your property assessment helps determine your property tax bill

  • Assessment & taxation in more detail

How to check if your assessment is accurate

You can use Assessment Search to you decide if you think your assessment is fair. It provides tools and resources to help you review your assessment.

When reviewing your assessment, it’s helpful to consider:   

  • Is your market value assessment a reasonable estimate as of July 1, 2023?
  • Are the factual property details we have on record, correct?
  • Is your assessment equitable when compared with others in your neighbourhood? 

Questions about your property assessment


What is the Municipal Government Act and what does it have to do with property assessment?

The Municipal Government Act is a law governing all municipalities in Alberta. It determines how and when we assess properties and includes laws about collecting information to prepare fair and equitable assessments.

I didn’t receive my assessment notice. What do I do?

for an eNotice, then the mailing address we have on file may be outdated. Please call us at (403) 268-2888 to confirm the mailing address the assessment notice was sent to.

Requests to change the mailing address must be made through Alberta Land Titles. Update requests can be made by completing the “Change of Address” form found here and mailing it to the address on the form.

How do I get another copy of my assessment notice?

You can access your assessment notice online through Assessment Search by signing up for eNotice.

To access Assessment Search, you will need a City myID account and your property’s access code (see the “How do I get my access code?” section further down this page if you need another copy of it). If you would prefer to have your assessment notice be mailed to you, then please call Assessment and we will send a copy of your assessment notice to the mailing address we have on file. 

How do I change my name or mailing address?

Assessments are mailed to the address registered with Alberta Land Titles. Changes to the address on file must be made through there. Update requests can be made by completing the “Change of Address” form found here and mailing it to the address on the form.

You can find more information about Alberta Land Titles, including their office hours, address, forms, fees and other information, by calling their office at 403-297-6511.

Note: Manufactured homes are not registered with the Government of Alberta Land Titles Office. To update the mailing address, please complete and submit a Manufactured Home Information form when you purchase, sell or move a manufactured home or wish to change your mailing address. Forms are also available from manufactured home park managers.

Why are assessment notices mailed separately from tax bills?

Assessment notices are mailed separately from tax bills to provide owners with an opportunity to ensure their assessment is reasonable before tax bills are mailed. Owners are encouraged to review their assessment and make any inquiries during the Customer Review Period. 

Will my taxes increase if my property assessment increases?

An increase in your property assessment does not mean your taxes will automatically go up by the same amount. Conversely, a decrease in your property assessment does not mean your taxes will automatically go down.

You can use our online calculator to estimate what your property tax will be.

Assessment is simply a distribution mechanism. Your assessment indicates the estimated value of your property. The property tax rate, which is based on budget requirements, is what determines how much your taxes will be. The tax rate is set by City Council each year. 

Why is my assessed value different than my sale/purchase price?

Properties are assessed using mass appraisal. This means that when we determine a residential property assessment through the sales approach to value, we have reviewed many sales of similar properties in the area as of July 1 the previous year.

Using multiple sales to determine an estimate of market value – instead of using one sale to indicate market value – means that owners can see a difference in their sale price and their assessed value.

Why is my assessment different than my neighbour’s assessment?

Though you and your neighbour’s properties are in the same area, there are many factors considered when assessing a property. Assessors factor in the property’s age, location, living area, lot size, additions and/or renovations and more when preparing the assessment. Your property may be physically different than your neighbour’s property.

We encourage you to review and compare your property details to your neighbour’s property details on Assessment Search. Use our step-by-step instructions to learn how to set up your account, check your property details and review sales: How to use Assessment Search.  

My neighbour completed renovations on their house. Why is my property assessment higher than/the same as their property assessment?

We encourage you to contact Assessment to review your assessment in comparison to your neighbour’s assessment. We work to ensure that all assessments are fair and equitable while respecting everyone’s privacy. We will only be able to discuss details of your neighbour’s assessment that are publicly available.

If we are notified of completed renovations that are not reflected in our system, then we will investigate. For privacy reasons, we are not able to update you on whether or not the renovation was added to their account. You will be able to check the property details online next year to see if the renovation was added. The property detail reports are made available annually through Secure Login on Assessment Search.

Please note, our review and any potential changes to your neighbour’s property will not change your assessment.

I looked at my property details online and they are incorrect. What do I do now?

If you think something is incorrect, please contact us and we will discuss your property. We may request permission for a property inspection or ask you to send us pictures. Any confirmed inconsistencies that are discovered will be corrected. If we determine that an amended notice is needed, then we’ll provide you with a new value. 

I disagree with my assessed value. Can you change it?

If you disagree with the assessment, call us and we will review it with you. If you still disagree after talking with us, you may file a complaint with the Assessment Review Board (ARB).

The ARB is an impartial tribunal that hears and resolves assessment complaints by property owners. A complaint may be filed no later than the final date noted on the front of the assessment notice.

If you file a complaint, your hearing date will be provided to you by the ARB. You will need to prepare and submit evidence to support your position. Visit CalgaryARB.ca to learn more.  

How do I get my access code?

Your access code is located on the top-right corner of your assessment notice. If you do not have your assessment notice, you can request a copy of your access code to be emailed to you by completing this online form

What is the Customer Review Period?

The Customer Review Period is your opportunity to review and ensure the accuracy of your property assessment and learn more about how your assessment was determined.

The Customer Review Period lasts 67 days. The specific dates are outlined on the front of your assessment notice. 

I filed a complaint last year and received a reduction on my assessment. Why does this year’s assessment not reflect last year’s change?

We receive new market information every year. We use this to prepare the annual property assessment. Decisions made by the Assessment Review Board in a previous year were based on older market information. Some of this information may still be used. Other information may have been phased out as new market research is analyzed. 

I missed the deadline to file a complaint. What can I do now?

Though the complaint deadline has passed, you can still login to our online system, Assessment Search, and:

  • Check to make sure that the property details we have on file are correct.
  • Sign up to receive your next assessment notice online if you haven’t done so yet.
  • Access our online tools and resources to help you understand your assessment.

Learn how to do all this and more by visiting How to use Assessment Search.